TASP Executive Committee 2019-2020

President – Smita Mathur
Associate Professor
Early Elementary Education
James Madison University
MEMH 310F
MSC 6909
540-568-2937
mathursx@jmu.edu

1st Vice President –– John Sutterby
University of Texas at San Antonio
john.sutterby@utsa.edu

Past President  –  Walter F. Drew
Founder/Executive Director
Institute for Self Active Education
Dr. Drew’s Toys, Inc.
P.O. Box 511001
Melbourne, FL 32951
321-223-0165
drwalterdrew@gmail.com

Secretary – Lynn Cohen
Professor
College of Education, Information & Technology
Long Island University Post
720 Northern Boulevard
Brookville, New York, NY 11548-1300
516-299-3675
lynn.cohen@liu.edu

 

Treasurer – Marcia Nell 
Associate Professor
Department of Early, Middle & Exceptional Education
Millersville University
PO Box 1002
1 South George St.
Millersville, PA 17551
717-871-7344
Marcia.Nell@millersville.edu

Members-at-Large

Book Review Editor – Joanna Cemore Brigden
Missouri State University, JoannaCemore@MissouriState.edu

Membership, Website & Strong Liaison – Michael Patte 
Bloomsburg University, mpatte@bloomu.edu

Newsletter Editor – Abby Loebenberg
Arizona State University,  abby.loebenberg@asu.edu

Series Editor, Play & Culture Studies –James E. Johnson
Pennsylvania State University, jej4@psu.edu

 

Members-at-Large

Abby Loebenberg, Arizona State University, Abby.Loebenberg@asu.edu

Carol Barron, Dublin City University, carol.barron@dcu.ie 

Julia Kroeker, Florida Southwestern State College, Julia.Kroeker@FSW.edu

Sean Durham, Auburn University, rsd0007@auburn.edu

Vejoya Viren, University of Texas at San Antonio, vejoya.viren@utrgv.edu

Debora Wisneski – Debora Wisneski, PhD. is the John T. Langan Community Chair of Early Childhood Education at University of Nebraska-Omaha. Wisneski is the Past President of the Association for Childhood Education International and former Steering Committee Member of the US Play Coalition. She is co-editor of Reconsidering the role of play in early childhood: Toward social justice and equity (2018).

Darrel Davis – Darrel Davis an Associate Professor of Educational Psychology at Miami University (mentored by Doris Bergen) and my research focuses on the intersection of Play and Technology. My Masters degree is in computer sciences, and I use that lens to inform my research. I am originally from Belize and I am also particularly interested in looking at the cultural components of Play.

Krysta Murillo – Krysta Murillo, Ph.D., is an assistant professor in the School of Education at the University of Tennessee – Chattanooga. Her focus area is early childhood education and her research interests include Preschool Education in Belize, Central America; play in the early years, home and school partnerships, and cultural school readiness practices.

International Member-at-Large 
Fraser Brown, Leeds Beckett University, UK, F.Brown@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

 

Student Member-at-Large
Tugce Arda Tuncdemir – Tugce B. Arda Tuncdemir, MS is a PhD student, emphasis on Early Childhood Education. Her research interests are play, creative drama, social-emotional learning; shared through presentations, chapters, and journals. She is teaching Early Childhood Field Experience and Play courses. She is awarded PPPIF Walter F. Drew Emerging Play Scholar Award 2018.